Svētdiena, 15.12.2013, 16:15

Uzmanību, atvērt jaunā logā. PDFDrukātNosūtīt draugam

The museum is devoted to Lerhis-Puškaitis and the fairy tales of Džūkste. It also seeks to preserve the tangible and intangible cultural heritage of the surrounding area. Visitors are invited to lis­ten to fairy tales and to offer their own ones. There are puppet shows in which visitors can take part. There are also exhibitions, along with the ability of guests to create their own fairy tale char­acters.

The Džūkste Fairy Tale Museum was established in December 2001 in what was once the Lancenieki School. From January 1883 until March 1903, the teacher, writer and collector of fairy tales and legends Anss Lerhis-Puškaitis (1859-1903) lived there. Because of his extensive research, he was known as the Father of Fairy Tales.

Lerhis-Puškaitis used fairy tales and legends in his work to un­leash the imagination of children and to help them to develop a system of Latvian values. Lerhis-Puškaitis collected some 6,000 fairy tales which he published in seven volumes between 1881 and 1903 under the title “The Legends and Fairy Tales of the Latvian People.”